Buy new:
$9.98
List Price: $18.00
Save: $8.02 (45%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
FREE delivery Monday, July 11 if you spend $25 on items shipped by Amazon
Or fastest delivery Friday, July 8. Order within 14 hrs 44 mins
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
[{"displayPrice":"$9.98","priceAmount":9.98,"currencySymbol":"$","integerValue":"9","decimalSeparator":".","fractionalValue":"98","symbolPosition":"left","hasSpace":false,"showFractionalPartIfEmpty":true,"offerListingId":"fHN4aA0%2Fgs1kHheyWm6aw55gMdPDUYslrLrmnQiyMgxQjc%2Fw3EPElL%2F0ekbZYywOJWJSJXe2dvrUmnaFJkV5QVGfK8Ek7H9MjQkf4G%2FoKqWrykIhCaV8WgFHU8Jz%2FXDE5mveRr%2F95IaKS73fCp2tDQ%3D%3D","locale":"en-US","buyingOptionType":"NEW"}]
$$9.98 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$9.98
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: Eligible for Return, Refund or Replacement within 30 days of receipt
This item can be returned in its original condition for a full refund or replacement within 30 days of receipt.
Where the Crawdads Sing has been added to your Cart
Share <Embed>
Have one to sell?
Other Sellers on Amazon
Added
$17.27
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: MyPrepbooks
Sold by: MyPrepbooks
(80 ratings)
100% positive over last 12 months
In Stock.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Added
$17.50
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
Sold by: bargainbookstores-
(442837 ratings)
96% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 2 to 3 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

Where the Crawdads Sing Paperback – March 30, 2021

4.8 out of 5 stars 255,170 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback
$9.98
$9.00 $8.86

Enhance your purchase


"A Borrowed Life: A Novel" by Kerry Anne King
From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper Me This comes an emotional and sharply witty novel about how life’s unexpected detours can ultimately bring you home. | Learn more

Frequently bought together

  • Where the Crawdads Sing
  • +
  • The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel
  • +
  • It Ends with Us: A Novel (1)
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Choose items to buy together.
Popular Highlights in this book

From the Publisher

Where the Crawdads Sing calendar Where the Crawdads Sing Puzzle
Where the Crawdads Sing Calendar Where the Crawdads Sing Puzzle
Where the Crawdads Sing 2022 Wall Calendar Where the Crawdads Sing 1000-piece Puzzle

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature....Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders—and dangers—of her private world.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya’s heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut.”—
People

“This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver.”—
Bustle

“A lush debut novel, Owens delivers her mystery wrapped in gorgeous, lyrical prose. It’s clear she’s from this place—the land of the southern coasts, but also the emotional terrain—you can feel it in the pages.  A magnificent achievement, ambitious, credible and very timely.”—Alexandra Fuller,
New York Times bestselling author of Don’t Let’s Go to the Dogs Tonight

“Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story.”—
Entertainment Weekly

“This wonderful novel has a bit of everything—mystery, romance, and fascinating characters, all told in a story that takes place in North Carolina.”—Nicholas Sparks, New York Times bestselling author of Every Breath

“Delia Owen’s gorgeous novel is both a coming-of-age tale and an engrossing whodunit.”—
Real Simple

“Evocative...Kya makes for an unforgettable heroine.”—
Publishers Weekly

“The New Southern novel...A lyrical debut.”
Southern Living

“A nature-infused romance with a killer twist.”—
Refinery29

“Anyone who liked The Great Alone will want to read Where the Crawdads Sing....This astonishing debut is a beautiful and haunting novel that packs a powerful punch. It’s the first novel in a long time that made me cry.”—Kristin Hannah, author ofThe Great AloneandThe Nightingale

“Both a coming-of-age story and a mysterious account of a murder investigation told from the perspective of a young girl...Through Kya’s story, Owens explores how isolation affects human behavior, and the deep effect that rejection can have on our lives.”—Vanity Fair

“Lyrical...Its appeal ris[es] from Kya’s deep connection to the place where makes her home, and to all of its creatures.”—
Booklist

“This beautiful, evocative novel is likely to stay with you for many days afterward....absorbing.”AARP 

“This haunting tale captivates every bit as much for its crime drama elements as for the humanity at its core.” —
Mystery & Suspense Magazine

“Compelling, original...A mystery, a courtroom drama, a romance and a coming-of-age story, Where the Crawdads Sing is a moving, beautiful tale. Readers will remember Kya for a long, long time.”ShelfAwareness

“With prose luminous as a low-country moon, Owens weaves a compelling tale of a forgotten girl in the unforgiving coastal marshes of North Carolina. It is a murder mystery/love story/courtroom drama that readers will love, but the novel delves so much deeper into the bone and sinew of our very nature, asking often unanswerable questions, old and intractable as the marsh itself. A stunning debut!”
Christopher Scotton, author of The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

“A compelling mystery with prose so luminous it can cut through the murkiest of pluff mud.”—
Augusta Chronicle

“Carries the rhythm of an old time ballad. It is clear Owens knows this land intimately, from the black mud sucking at footsteps to the taste of saltwater and the cry of seagulls.”David Joy, author of The Line That Held Us

About the Author

Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa—Cry of the Kalahari, The Eye of the Elephant, and Secrets of the Savanna. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, the African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many other publications. She currently lives in Idaho, where she continues her support for the people and wildlife of Zambia. Where the Crawdads Sing, the #1 New York Times bestseller, is her first novel.

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Penguin Publishing Group (March 30, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 400 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0735219109
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0735219106
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 11.2 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.47 x 0.85 x 8.22 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.8 out of 5 stars 255,170 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Discover more of the author’s books, see similar authors, read author blogs and more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5
255,170 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 26, 2018
1,265 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 25, 2018
511 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 28, 2019
4,697 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 1, 2018
3,510 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 6, 2018
242 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 28, 2018
924 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 20, 2018
826 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Eliza
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete claptrap
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 18, 2019
1,527 people found this helpful
Report abuse
chocolateg
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge disappointment.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 4, 2019
406 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Viking
1.0 out of 5 stars Pathetic Verse and Worse
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on January 24, 2020
220 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning masterpiece of literature!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2019
266 people found this helpful
Report abuse
stoaty1
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter bilge
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 29, 2020
204 people found this helpful
Report abuse